Let’s Go!

Man am I glad it’s Friday! My week wasn’t absolutely terrible, but parts of it stunk majorly. I am SO happy that today is Friday, because in my mind, Friday = start of the weekend! Except for one thing. I woke up about an hour ago with a sore throat which is not okay. Let’s just say I’ll be drinking gallons of water and taking it relatively easy today, plus I think that a little retail therapy will help this afternoon (I need new shoes for a wedding…definitely important stuff here).

This weekend marks the start of the half marathon madness. Tomorrow, Rock the Parkway is the first of four half marathons that I will be running over the course of the next month. I ran this race last year, and this is the course that I set my current half marathon PR on.

A reader emailed me and asked if I ever got the jitters or nerves before races, and I haven’t lately, but I started getting anxious earlier this week about RTP. I realized this because I haven’t put pressure on myself or had a challenging goal for a race in a long time. The last two half marathons I ran were both in training for my first marathon, and I couldn’t put serious goals on the Little Rock Marathon because it was so close after my surgery, I was just happy to have a properly functioning body.

Fast forward to today. I’ve spent the past month investing in quality long runs, tempo work that left me wanting to puke, and dabbling in 8:34-9:20 minute miles, which for me…is painful in the best way. Then there’s the thing I love about racing longer distances; I have no clue what is in store for tomorrow. I know I’m ready, am praying for no rain tomorrow, and also hoping my sore throat magically goes away.

Lots of mental prep has gone into getting ready for tomorrow. I have somewhat been psyching myself out (ie “It’s only 13.1 miles! Run balls to the wall then you can be done! Pain is only temporary!”) Ha. ha. ha. My nerdiness amuses me so much. But also I’ve been working setting some realistic goals. Last year, I was soclose to breaking 2:20 at this race, but came up a handful of seconds short. In 2011, I ran the Kansas City Half Marathon course nearly 7 minutes faster than I did the first time I ran it (2010), and that is a challenging course. So I figure, if I can shave that chunk of time off of a race I was running for training purposes, then surely I can reach my goals tomorrow. My baseline goal is to break 2:20; I want a half marathon in the 2:teens or lower. My, “I would be floating on cloud nine and the happiest little runner ever” goal is to break 2:15. Tomorrow I will be lining up with the 2:15 pacers and am going to run this race harder than any race I’ve ever ran before. What happens after that…is a mystery to me and I can’t wait to find out how it goes!

All I know is that I’m going to give it my all, every drop of energy and runability that I have. With that, I will be happy.

What are you going to be giving your all to this weekend?

I’ll be reporting back (potentially tomorrow afternoon) with a race recap! The rest of the day I’ll be getting up close and personal with this:

One last thing. Because it’s Friday, here’s a picture of my dog loving life, which we humans need to get better at!

One thought on “Let’s Go!

  1. Holla! I’ll be thinking about you today (and tomorrow, and the next day). I totally think 2:15 is doable. You’ve put in the work so trust your training. And this race is the big kickoff to rocking four other races so no pressure 🙂 So happy for you and like I said, you’ll be in my thoughts! It is ONLY 13.1.

Leave a Reply

