Marathon Training: Week 15

As you may or may not know, there are 16 weeks in my training program. This is week fifteen. You do the math.

I was singing this song on my run this morning. Just kidding.

This past weekend were the Rock ‘n Roll Savannah and ING New York City Marathons and after reading other blogger’s race recaps and having Facebook and Twitter blow up about the races, the marathon feel is definitely in the air.

This morning while I was running, I began to wonder about what would happen after the race. Unfortunately I didn’t come up with any great ideas or revelations. In all honesty, my biggest fear is dealing with the post-partum. You know that bittersweet feeling you get maybe the day after coming home from vacation, or saying goodbye to a best friend?

These past four months have been completely dedicated to training for one race, and a thought I couldn’t shake while running this morning was, “Who am I? Who is this person…?” Not in a bad way, but more of an, “I can’t believe this is really my life, this is me running, and if someone would have told me a year ago I would be running a marathon I would have died laughing.” It’s amazing what can happen in a year, or two or five. Let’s just say I’m very curious as to what the future has in store.

This week looks a bit like:
Monday- did 7.3 miles this morning and the hardest part was getting out the door
Tuesday- ZUMBA! I have missed Zumba so much, watch out Shakira, when I get my groove back you will be old news
Wednesday- Rest
Thursday- 10 miles (last long run…sniff)
Friday- Rest or maybe 3 miles if I’m feeling it
Saturday- Girls on the Run 5k!

Finally, a quote for your Monday that helps keep me motivated…
“If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless…”

Leave a Reply

