For my Momma

I read this card a few weeks ago that said, “Why are we celebrating you when your mom was the one who did all the work?”

So 22 years ago my mom was hanging out in a hospital bed, chowing on ice chips, probably watching my great grandma pacing like a race horse, trying to get a 21-inch, 9+ pound baby out of her body. Sorry about that one, mom. Then it happened. The San Francisco earthquake that interrupted the World Series. Oh, and they finally got my out of my momma’s belly. We joke that the world shook when I made my entrance into it (ha!). But anyways, this one is for you mom. Thanks for having me, thanks for loving me, teaching me, crying with me, laughing with me, supporting me, listening to me, challenging me, and being my rock.

I’ll like you forever, I’ll love you for always, as long as I’m living, your baby I’ll be.

Leave a Reply

