Marathon Training: Week 11

The weeks are starting to blur together! Moving my long runs to Thursdays has been great but doesn’t really provide a distinct break between weeks, especially with oddball weeks like this one.

First, let’s chat. Get comfortable, grab some coffee/tea/soda/whatever. I don’t share a lot of my day to day life on the blog since my posts tend to have specific topics (because my day to day life really isn’t that thrilling…to you). For example, this is what my posts would be like everyday: Breakfast, run/workout, study, drink iced coffee, read blogs, lunch, work, study some more, coach, maybe workout again, dinner, Pinterest, read, sleep.

I would rather save my energy for drinking iced coffee, recreating training schedules and Pinning than blogging about them. If I did blog on a daily basis, you probably would have heard about a pain that I’ve been experiencing the past two weeks. I’m a mildly gravely determined individual, which means I can also be gravely stubborn at times. I tell people how important it is to listen to your bodies, and I’m usually pretty good at it too, but not this time around. I’ve had this pain in my left arch for a little while now and I have been doing everything I can to help it; massaging, new running shoes, rolling it on a golf ball (yes this works, yes I am crazy), whatever. It. is. not. helping. It is more of an annoyance than anything, but recently the pain has intensified. Like, “can’t walk in the mornings because pain is shooting from my foot all the way up my calf,” intensified.

What is this pain you ask? It’s called plantar fasciitis. This is a common injury with long distance runners and I hate to admit it, but I think it was something I did. Messing with my gait, form, stride, running on uneven surfaces (guilty…) something…something to cause this. All I know is that my body is talking to me and I finally have to practice what I preach and listen to it. My last couple of runs have left my arch swollen and bruised all the way up to my ankle so I’ve got to take care of it. I have read that this pain can take anywhere from 6-12 months to heal completely but I am believing that it will be completely healed by like um this weekend. I made this request to God before I started training for this marathon that I would get through the whole thing injury free and I know he’s honoring it, but he also gave me a brain to use when crap like this happens.

Plan for recovery: well today was a total rest day, more icing my foot, more massaging, easier runs, keeping it taped to stabilize it and prayers. I am really looking forward to the KC half marathon this weekend and want it to be a great race, which means this week I had to slow down a little bit. Thank you for listening to my ramblings and boohooing.

This week’s plan:
Monday: 7 miles, 5 miles at goal half marathon pace. This run was painful…very painful.
Tuesday: total rest, body you are welcome
Wednesday: 4 miles, easy plus strength workout
Thursday: 3 miles, easy
Friday: total rest
Saturday: KC Half Marathon!!!!
Sunday: rest

I can’t believe tomorrow is already Wednesday, this week is FLYING by!!! Make it a good one friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

