A Father’s Love

Happy birthday to my awesome as ever daddy-o!

Let me open up my heart and talk to you for a minute about something that isn’t running. There are certain times of the year that touch my heart a little more than others, such as my dad’s birthday, my birthday, Valentine’s day and parent’s recent anniversary. Why these dates/holidays? They all obviously have to do with love and celebrations and I can honestly say that no man/guy in this world could love me like my dad does.

Many of you know me and/or my family personally, and some of you know our story but most don’t. According to doctors, my mom wasn’t even supposed to be able to have children when she became pregnant with me, as a single mom she had love and support from close friends and family which helped her get through (what sounded like a less that enjoyable) pregnancy with me. She raised me with the help of my aunt, mema and granny (Mother as we called her) for the first year and a half of my life. Introduced by friends, she met and fell in love with my dad, a cowboy man’s man born and bred in the heart of Texas who had a passion for disco, Dr. Pepper and my mom. They wed twenty years ago, just five months after meeting.

Their marriage means more to me than just two parents who got married. My dad married my mom knowing that I came as part of the package deal; a two-fer-one, peanut butter and jelly, double stuffed oreo package. It is something so special to me and something I cherish because the guy whose DNA I have didn’t want to stick around. It hurt my mom’s heart, but then waltzed in a burly Texan with a bolo tie and snake skin boots who scooped both of us up and wanted to love us for life. His love and dedication to our family is something that isn’t common it seems in our world today and as tears roll down my face as I write this, I can’t even begin to describe how blessed I am to have a dad with a heart so full of love. It’s a love that never ends.

The love my dad has for my family serves as a little glimpse of the love that our heavenly Dad has for each and every one of us. No matter what you have done, who you are, where you are from or what your future holds…He loves you as far as the east is from the west times a thousand.

 

2 thoughts on “A Father’s Love

Leave a Reply

