Marathon Training: Week 1

About four months ago I had just completed my second half marathon, was maintaining fitness to complete my third, and began  entertaining the idea of running a marathon. Now that I have been running for nearly two years, I have found that half marathons are fun and my favorite distances to race, but I also like setting goals and enjoy a good challenge. So starting yesterday, I’m training for the Route 66 Marathon in Tulsa on November 20th.

Why the Route 66 Marathon? 

I didn’t want to run the Kansas City Marathon this year because that means I would have started training in the beginning of July, which was a crazy month for travels and heat in the midwest; I wanted to enjoy my summer as long as possible. I found Route 66 from Runner’s World and am figuring that the weather in Oklahoma in November will be ideal marathon conditions (for me anyways), it was close enough to drive to, it’s a good sized race and they also have a few unique features which include the option of running 26.5 miles to the ‘Detour to the Center of the Universe.’ You know I couldn’t pass up that opportunity.

How do you even train for a marathon?

I have done a lot of reading and research. There are so many great resources out there to help runners, we just have to take advantage of them. Also having taken several fitness and running classes while in school, that has helped me to construct my own training plan. I took the skeleton of my plan from a recent edition of Runner’s World Magazine mostly for mileage outlines, but plugged in changes to my personal preferences and what I know will work for my body. The original plan had you running and only running five days a week, including the day after a long run which is a big no-no for me. I like the day before and the day after long runs for rest, thankyouverymuch. It also didn’t incorporate any cross or strength training…what’s up with that Runner’s World?

With that being said, I’ll be sharing posts weekly outlining my training for that week, and no doubt when it comes time for those 16,  18 and 22 mile runs there will be good posts to follow. 22 miles is a longgggg time to think about good stuff to blog about.

Goals

I want to finish the marathon, obviously. I’m not sure if it will be good, bad or ugly, but I want to finish. Other goals include:

  • Take care of and listen to my body, and complete training injury-free
  • Keep my diet as clean as possible and properly fueling, for I know this greatly affects my running. I will allow myself a ‘free’ or ‘cheat’ day on days that I do long runs, but for the most part I will be adhering to my personal philosophy of “If it didn’t walk, swim or grow, don’t eat it.” It’s what works best for me.
  • Participate in a few group runs, especially for the longer distance long runs. Having the other people there will greatly motivate me and make those long runs less agonizing boring
  • Be in the best shape of my life by the time I run this marathon.
I’m sure I will make more goals for myself along the course of this training, but this is what I’ve got so far.
The plan this week:
Monday: 4 miles, easy + 3.5 mile walk with a friend
Tuesday (today): Rest day with lots of stretching. Still somewhat sore from Warrior Dash.
Wednesday: 4 miles + strength training
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 10 miles
Sunday: Rest
Total mileage: 22
This week is a nice ease into training and I’m welcoming this set running schedule with open arms. There is something comforting to me knowing that I have a set workout schedule for the next four months…right? I’m excited to be doing this and am also greatly looking forward to what my future has in store, what this marathon training will to me and how I will grow as a person as a result of this.
Adventure is worthwhile in itself. –Amelia Earhart


One thought on “Marathon Training: Week 1

  1. Pingback: Marathon Training: Week 2 | faith/food/fitness

Leave a Reply

