Warrior Dash 2011

Let’s see here…I can still walk so I’d say I did alright. Forget the face that I am scraped, bruised, have bug bites in places I shouldn’t and even laying down hurts…I can walk. I am a warrior.

I ran the race with Bridget and her BIL (her sister was going to run with us but opted out due to some potentially serious back problems) but she was there to cheer us on!

Being the ornery bunch that we are, we didn’t want costumes but we wanted something unique and funny…

I must admit it was really fun when we were passing K-State fans and feeling very KU proud

This is the “Uh, are we really doing this? It’s hot out here.” face. Thanks for capturing that one, Drew.

We were ready to do this thing.

Let me tell you this. The only thing I could think of before we were starting was “It is hotter’n balls out here!” Yeah I said it…hotter than BALLS. 2pm on a July afternoon in the Midwest? I’m parched just thinking back to yesterday. The heat was as challenging if not more than the course itself.

People asked me how I had been training for this. I had no idea what to really expect, so I just did my normal running, strength training, Zumba (because it’s FUN and probably assisted my coordination or something) and I must say that I am so glad I did those ridiculous trail runs in the middle of the afternoons  leading up to the race. Did I tell you those trail runs were because I felt like it, not in particular to punish myself train? Did I also tell you I have gone crazy? 

While doing this race I realized there really was no way you could train for it unless you regularly practice hurling your body across tall obstacles, scaling up leaps and bounds of hay, climb ropes for fun, regularly play with fire or willingly crawl through mud with your mouth open, thus getting it in your mouth and in your teeth. Nope, no way to be fully prepared for this race no matter what.

BUT IT WAS SO FUN.

If I could crawl through mud on a regular basis like I probably honestly would. Ok maybe not regularly, but for race purposes…definitely.

This is the money shot right here…

white girl can jump.

And of course the lovely photographer, Warrior Dash veteran, marathon and cycling extraordinare, and great friend Drew! Thank you for coming out and supporting us and being patient while I was busy being dehydrated and trying to stay conscious after the race was over

Clearly this was pre-Warrior Dashing

I’m still waiting for some photos Bridget’s sister took of us completely covered in mud, those will definitely be shared as soon as I get my muddy hands on them.

I am so thankful and happy that I was able to do this race and finish (in 1:03:59) safely. My heart goes out to those who have suffered heat related sickness and hospitalization from doing the dash. I would do this race again in a heartbeat. Ok maybe next year.

If you will excuse me, I need to get to bed. I have a marathon to start training for tomorrow. Eeeeep! I’ll be sharing the glories of my training plan on the blog this week.

2 thoughts on “Warrior Dash 2011

Leave a Reply

