Hospital Hill Half Marathon

Where to even begin with this race?!  How about the beginning. Yes, that’s a good idea.

After making my routine race day port-a-potty stop, I spotted some friends who were running the 10k!

I was so pleasantly surprised, the perfect way to start the morning! It helped take my mind off any pre-race jitters I might have had and reminded me that I was just going to have a good time racing! And might I add that they all rocked the 10k!

Since we were busy chatting, I kind of didn’t think of heading to find my pacer until about 5 minutes before the race, oops!  So I was in the back of a very large crowd…um 7,600+ people…by the 2:40 pacers and ran the first mile relatively fast to catch up to the 2:20 pacers which I hoped to stick with. By the time I caught up with the pace group I decided, ‘Fo-get this! I’m just running to have a good time!’ and went by my own pace the rest of the 13.1, which was a good decision on my part.

If you didn’t know, on Saturday is was hawwwtttt. Like HOT…hot hot, you know? And you know that your body temperature raises while running. But honestly, since I was sure to fill up on 2-3 cups of water per aid station and had been drinking H2O like it was my job the week prior, I was feelin’ good! Unfortunately I witnessed several runners (starting by mile 4) passed out and hooked up to IVs along the race course which was scary and a reminder of how important it is to take care of yourself.

Between miles 5 and 6 my family had camped out a spot to cheer me on…

I was smiling because I was having FUN and excited to see the fam…and also swung by for a sweaty hug from mom and brother

Then the journey continued!

The first 9 miles were great. Who says that about running 9 miles? Girl gone crazy. But then I started to slow down my pace a little bit…the calves were cramping and the heat was definitely setting in! As I slowed down, I met a very nice lady and ran with her for a couple of miles which was wonderful. We chatted about how she wasn’t a runner and was doing races because her friends signed her up for it, she told me about her dreams of living in Colorado but was here in Kansas City for the time being.

At this point, a walk break ensued. I had stopped sweating and was getting chills which are two signs that your body is overheating, so it spoke and I had to listen. Thankfully there were amazing spectators with buckets of ice for us to grab handfuls of on our way by; it was perfect. I never thought ice in my bra would feel so good.

Come mile 12 at the top of one of the most obnoxious hills, I spotted my family again!

They were at the top of the hill which was where I was trying to get.

These are things I was actually thinking of while running. Told you we were crazy.

Mom wasn’t feeling the sweaty hug this time. Sweat at mile 12 > sweat at mile 5.

All that was left to conquer was THE Hospital Hill. Then I ran to the finish line like my legs have never ran before. Without passing out, of course. But the finish was my favorite part, I’ve gotta be honest. It swung by the Liberty Memorial and was a pancake to downhill finish, under a bridge, with a TON of crowd support…which is key to any race. It was awesomeeee.

This is how I felt after:

We love candid photos.

 

Hospital Hill was my slowest half marathon time to date, but this was without a doubt the most fun I have ever had running a race, and I can’t wait to conquer the hill again next year! PS I’m still sore from this race

Finally, a big SHOUT OUT to my fantastical mom, dad, aunt, brother and sister for being the best cheerleaders ever 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Hospital Hill Half Marathon

  1. You crack me up! Love the captions. Funny, sometimes you’re thinking what I think you’re thinking! Soooooo happy you didn’t pass out or overdo it, cuz it was H O T. You’re getting real good at this racerunningmarathon stuff. So happy for you and proud of you. xoxoxo!!!

  2. Pingback: So, what’s next? | faith/food/fitness

  3. Pingback: Marathon Training: Week 1 | faith/food/fitness

Leave a Reply

