Trolley Run 2011

Yesterday was my one year race-iversary! I celebrated by running my tenth race at the same event I competed in my first race at!

Runners tend to develop pre-race rituals to get in the race groove. I eat the same breakfast, wear the same shorts, drink a bottle of water an hour before the start, must take a nervous poop, arrive to the starting line early to warm-up…but sometimes these rituals don’t follow through as I would like. The Trolley Run on Sunday was a prime example.

I was a little tired from staying out not too late at my friend’s surprise 90’s themed birthday party playing Skip-It and doing the Macarena. When I woke up at 5am on Sunday…I did the same breakfast, put on the same shorts but couldn’t do my nervous duties. I figured that’s what the port-a-potties were there for and I should just head to the race site.

The Trolley Run is unique from other races I have done because they shuttle you to the start line from the plaza via ‘trolleys’…

This is what a portion of 11,000 runners look like while waiting in line to be shuttled to the start

This is what three cold and sleepy partyrunners look like while waiting in line to be shuttled to the start

Lisa is on the left and Talia was a brave soul and decided at 12:30am on race day that she was going to do the run with us…her VERY FIRST RACE! And she rocked it…you go girl!

(This is also the part where I promised I would take pictures during the run and I failed at that promise. Last minute I asked Lisa’s wonderful spectating sister to hold onto my camera for me because I just knew it was going to bug me during the race)

Let me put a long story in as few phrases as possible: 7:43am off bus, 7:45am race start, no poop, water sloshing in stomach, dodging runners to pass, cattle-esque stampede, narrow streets, mentally checked out due to sleepiness, still wanted PR.

My mile splits were as follows:

Mile 1: 10:30- I will openly admit that I was being a huge grumpster the first mile because this split was not okay with me. Then I reminded myself how negative splits are what sets PRs…negative splits set PRs…

Mile 2: 9:30- I was relieved but felt like I could push even harder…this race was only four miles and I knew I could beat my goal

Mile 3: 9:18- My mood greatly improved and was recalling to when I did this race last year as my first race. It was fun passing the spots that I remember taking walk breaks in last year, and then running right through them

Mile 4: 8:30- Uh…I ran a mile in 8:30…after running three miles before it?

My official time was 37:48 which I was shocked and very happy about. I cut over a minute off per mile of my average pace from last year and beat my last 4-mile race time by over 2 minutes! I was relieved, and didn’t poop my pants during the race and was able to cross the finish line (a second time) with Lisa and Talia!! I also snapped some pictures to compensate for my lack of in-action photos:

The finish line!

This photo had to be included…Lisa being a boss!

Talia finishing her first race! Hug and high-five worthy!! You are AMAZING!!!

Followed by a well earned seat on the sidewalk.

I also want to shout out to my awesome Aunt who walked the race and beat her time goal by a long shot! I wish I had pictures of her crossing the finish line…Aunt you’re incredible!

The Trolley Run will always have a special place in my heart, but from here on out it will be a ‘fun run’ that I do; not one going for a time goal, but one to be enjoyed with my friends and family.

Now for races 11, 12, 13, 14….100…you get the picture!

Leave a Reply

