Happy Birthday Chancy!

I will never forget the night that I was six years old and hanging in the bathtub, when my mom asked me if I wanted a little brother or sister. “Now, are you really sure you want one? Like really, really sure?”

“Yes mom! I’m really really sure! Pretty pleaseeeee?” Then I remember waking up to use the bathroom that night and wondering why my parents’ bedroom door was closed. If only I knew then where babies really came from. This was a whole 15 years ago.

Chancy, from your terrible twos which lasted until you were four, to the bite marks you left on my wrists, from stealing my headbands to stealing my iPhone case…I love you.

You are cool, confident, smart, creative and beautiful. Enjoy every day of being 15, and keep doin’ yo thang, sister!

Leave a Reply

