Dear Diary

Truth: I had written about 4 drafts of ‘potential posts’ but my last one was one that just needed to be published.

Warning: I wrote this post because I needed to get it out of my system. Bear with me. Or don’t…whatever!

**Another note: please also bear with my themes/messy site…I’m working on making it better. Feedback is appreciated 🙂

What I have wanted to write about but haven’t:

On Sunday: I ran 10.5 miles, my longest run since the Waddell & Reed Half Marathon in October. My mom told me to take my phone with me but I never do because I don’t have anywhere to put it. At mile 8, if I had my phone with me, I would have called my mom to have her come pick me up. It took everything I had to not sit down in the middle of the sidewalk and cry because mentally, I didn’t think I could get through those last 2.5 miles. My calves had started to cramp, my hips flexors were tight and I just wanted to be home. “Kelsey you have done this before, you can do this…you got this.” And so I ran.

Although I have been training for about a month now, I feel like my training just started. Probably because I have finally started to really dedicate myself to my training; going to bed earlier, lots of foam rolling, interval training, yoga, and the long runs. Ohh the long runs…

On Monday: I attended a new Vinyasa Flow yoga class at my gym, with the thermostat accidentally programmed around 90 degrees for a hot yoga class. This was supposed to be my active recovery day. So much for that one! It was quite alright though, I left the class feeling very…relaxed and I was happy my body was experiencing something other than running. We did enough downward facing dogs to make my arms sore on Tuesday!

On Tuesday: I realized all I have been listening to is 90s music. More Sugar Ray and Spin Doctors than I have ever listened to in my life. Problem? I think not! I need all this 90s music to keep my spirits up anyways, with my iPhoto being a huge pain in Djbouti. I see a visit to the Apple store in my near future if I can’t figure this out! Hence why my posts have not been published–I have no photos for them! Photos = visually appealing. Visual appeal = more people interested.

Finally…Rock the Parkway is in 37 days. Why does this make my stomach flip? I gave myself about 5 months to train for my last (and first) half marathon…uhmmm….I got this? I got this. Right! “Youcandoanythingyousetyourmindto IcandoallthingsthroughChristwhostrengthensme Youcandoanythingyousetyourmindto…” Let me go dig up my list of mantras.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I am going to go dance around the house to Michael Jackson before running 93083 errands. Happy Wednesday friends!

4 thoughts on “Dear Diary

Leave a Reply

