mid-degree crisis

Have you ever had one of those moments where you stop and think,

“What the heck am I doing??”

Whether you have one of those moments

  • cracking an egg into the sink instead of the bowl
  • taking a mindless turn in the complete opposite direction of your destination
  • staying up late wasting time on Facebook

not that I would know any of this from experience, I assure you

Regardless, I think we all have these moments!

I had a big one of these moments last week. School started, time to get back to routine, time to continue working on the degree I am pursuing. Degree…what degree?? See, I had deemed myself ‘pre-nursing’ because that is what I was working towards. I know I want to be a nurse, I know it’s what I’m called to do, and those were my intentions as far as school went. But then I asked God,

“HOW ARE YOU GOING TO GET ME THERE?!?!”

I don’t have a 4.0 GPA, science has a history of kicking my butt and I refuse to go neck-deep in debt to pay for school.

Hello, mid-degree crisis, it’s not nice to see you again.

This is my

“What the heck am I doing??”

moment.

 

I was confused, annoyed, pouty and desiring to know what my future has in store. Then I stumbled across this post from Angela over at Oh She Glows, one of my favorite blogs. It is appropriately titled. “Graduation Fears” and in the post she goes on to explain how we are not failures for not having our lives planned out, we are not failures for changing our minds and we are not failures period.

 

I believe that through this post and the bloggers who commented on it was God’s way of giving me comfort and reminding me that I’m not the only one who feels like a mess. I believe that He has given me desires and passions, and that it is so important to follow those passions and chase after Him because then I will be living in His perfect will.

Then I asked myself; what do I love? What is it that I am passionate about? Where are my strengths?

 

I know that I will be a nurse eventually. God has a plan, maybe not a straight shot to a BSN but He’s got a plan. He has also given me a brain and enough guidance and direction to know what to do with it. I can say that I am considering a few different options but will continue to be willing to go in whatever way He leads.

 

Until then, I am continuing in school, continuing to do what I love and follow my passions and love every moment I am blessed with. Hopefully no more degree crises in the near future.

 

 

2 thoughts on “mid-degree crisis

  1. Ohhhhh girl, you are speaking to my soul! Do you know many times I almost just “F-Ued” my program and threw in the towel? How many tears I shed out of pure frustration? The number of cursewords I threw at stupid assignments?!

    But now that I’m finally student teaching, I realize all the BS I put up with and the seemingly pointless assignments were more than worth it.

    Don’t give up on your dream, no matter how frustrated you get. The harder you work for something, the more meaningful it is in the end.

    And just like running, “if it were easy, everyone would be doing it!”.

  2. So true, sister! Part of this experience is really finding out what it is exactly that I am passionate about, which is the fun part! I am also reminded to take everything one step/day at a time and enjoy the life I’m living!

Leave a Reply

