Homemade Puppy Treats

My dog Honey is a Golden Retriever who is the biggest bundle of love ever. She has been a part of our family for 6 months now. Katie is my parent’s dog, a chow retriever with an attitude who just recently warmed up to me. Katie has been a part of our family for three years. But if you have a dog (or any other pet), you know they are very important members of the family!

I believe in being healthy, so shouldn’t my dog be healthy too? This brings me to my point; have you ever read the list of ingredients on the back of your beloved pooch’s treats?! I couldn’t pronounce half of the ingredients let alone know what they really are, so I googled ‘homemade dog treats’ and decided I wanted to start making my own for Honey and Katie!

Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits
Courtesy of Bullwrinkle

1/2c. water
1/2c. oil
2 eggs
3T peanut butter
2t vanilla
2c. flour
1/2c. cornmeal
1/2c. oats

1. Blend wet ingredients together (peanut butter included!). Whisk dry ingredients together and combine with wet mixture to form a ball of dough.
2. Shape the dough into small/medium/large shaped bones, circles, hearts, etc. and place on nonstick cookie sheet.
3. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes; turn off oven and let treats continue to bake until hardened.

Why this recipe is great:

  • it is made of ingredients you probably already have laying around in the pantry
  • they are dog treats. not a very tough crowd to please!
  • I found this recipe easiest to blend using my hands which means less dishes to clean up!
  • I also think this recipe would be a great to use with kiddos. Kids + dogs + messy hands = a happy kitchen!
  • your dog will think these are delicious and love you even more than before.

Case in point:

and she will look longingly into your eyes until she gets 1, 2, 3 more treats and then she might be satisfied. you be the judge.


Leave a Reply

