Is it Monday yet?

As of late, Mondays have become my favorite day of the week. Why Mondays? Because my Mondays (and every other day for that matter) start out with this:

This is my monstrous coffee cup that I sip hot tea from. Daily. Mondays are especially nice because I have time to relax and enjoy it. I then proceed to stay in my pajamas until around noon, depending on what time I have to be where that day, spending my morning reading, writing recipes, doing laundry…I love it. Then on Monday afternoons I hang out with two of the cutest kiddos around who tell me they love me more than anyone else does on a Monday. Monday nights I go to yoga and those are my Mondays.

But THIS Monday is extra special. Why is this Monday extra special? Well you know this diet that I have been on? You know the one that I’m cracking jokes about and loathing/secretly loving? Well this Monday is the day that I am done locking in! I can hear the hallelujah chorus now!

Confession: this diet has completely changed how I view food and how aware I am of what goes into my body. Starting on Monday though, I will be allowed to begin reintroducing carbohydrates, starches, etc. to my diet. My new (general) rule of thumb: if I can’t pronounce it, it’s not going in my body. I refuse to pollute my body with junk. I am still going to be eating tons of veggies, organic chicken, turkey and fish, and a reasonable amount of fruit with healthy carbs sprinkled in. I can’t wait to try these fabulous recipes I’ve been compiling, the vegan chocolate cake Chris brought over for Thanksgiving (I snuck a piece into the freezer), and granola. I have a date with homemade granola on Monday.

As great as this diet has been, I’m ready to be done. Just knowing that if I want a bite of the Banana Oatmeal Bread sitting on the counter that I baked, I can take a bite!  A majority of the food I cook I haven’t even eaten.

 

Here’s to December…it’s going to be a fabulous month!

 

 

One thought on “Is it Monday yet?

  1. Pingback: EditEditEdit « faith/food/fitness

Leave a Reply

