the Week of Gratitude: day 2

I am grateful for my health.

According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, HEALTH is:

a. the condition of being sound in body, mind, or spirit; especially : freedom from physical disease or pain.

This is something that I believe is very easy to take for granted.

My battle with obesity is conquered, my body is free from cancer, I don’t take medications, my organs are not plagued with disease; I am healthy, well and whole. With each passing day, I give thanks to the One who created me for my health.

Not everyone is this fortunate.

Although my decision to be healthful is something that requires constant work and effort, I am still grateful that I have the time and ability to put towards this lifestyle. I wish there was something to be done to make everyone healthy, and all I can do is share my experiences with those I meet in hopes that it would inspire them to take action towards bettering their health.

But for those who are the victims of unfortunate sitations, I can only empathize. My heart hurts for those battling cancer, obesity, heart disease, AIDS, depression, suicide…the list goes on. You are not put in situations bigger than yourself, you are never given something more than you can handle. How do you get through a problem? You go through it. 

Make the most of this life, friends. It’s the only one ya got!

Be healthier today than you were yesterday:

  • take 5 minutes of ‘me’ time to unwind and destress
  • enjoy 3oz of dark chocolate
  • sip a cup of hot tea
  • find something that makes you smile
  • hug someone

One thought on “the Week of Gratitude: day 2

  1. Good stuff. You are definitely a wonderful example for me and I ponder making changes every day. So many unhealthful things are a choice, not something you accidentally caught or got diagnosed with. I’ve said it before – You make me want to be a better person, inside and out!

Leave a Reply

